Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Desktop and applications are running very slow.

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Desktop and applications are running very slow.

Hello, I am new to Kubuntu, about a month old.. When i installed the Kubuntu it was working fine.

I installed the Compiz package and that made my Desktop and applications (especially the response time while performing window operations like scrolling) very slow.

Then i uninstalled Compiz and to executed command
    kwin --replace & kde-window-manager &
    This removed Compiz but made my Kubuntu very slow, applications like Firefox flicker a lot when i scroll.

Please suggest me some way getting out of this and restore my old Desktop settings.

Re: Desktop and applications are running very slow.

What video driver are you using?
    Asus G1S-X3:
    Intel Core2 Duo T7500, Nvidia GeForce 8600M GT, 4Gb PC2-5300, 320Gb Hitachi 7k320, Linux ( )

Comment

I'm having the same problem too. I'm using a Nvidia 5200 FX card with 128mb and I'm using the proprietary nvidia driver that gets installed by doing "restricted drivers".

I have 640mb of ram and I'm using kubuntu 7.10 and kde 3.5.?
      I'm also using an Athlon 950 amd.
      My primary pc is sick so I'm using my secondary pc.
      Maybe firefox is my problem.
      Firefox 2.0.0.12

Comment

Originally posted by pcdoctor
        I'm having the same problem too.  I'm using a Nvidia 5200 FX card with 128mb and I'm using the proprietary nvidia driver that gets installed by doing "restricted drivers".

I have 640mb of ram and I'm using kubuntu 7.10 and kde 3.5.?
        I'm also using an Athlon 950 amd.
        My primary pc is sick so I'm using my secondary pc.
        Maybe firefox is my problem.
        Firefox 2.0.0.12