This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Kubuntu Noob to Expert

I don't know where else to post this question, and it's too open ended for a concise forum post, so I figured the Cafe was the next best place.

As the post title indicates, I'm a Noob for about the last 10 years. But, I don't want to be a noob anymore. I just don't know where to start.

I'm interested in building a new Desktop PC with only Kubuntu as the OS. I did this about 10 years ago, and it was largely successful. The PC was damaged in a flooding event and I never replaced it. I've been using leftover laptops and just installing Kubuntu on those with the bootable USB. I even tried Groovy on my 2013 Macbook, and it's been nearly perfect since the install. A couple of hiccups, but it's working great. I can't take any credit, it's all thanks to the Kubuntu developers.

That said, I want to be more than a "noob", but I have no idea where to start. I have been researching hardware for my next build, and I have found that there are tons of incompatibilities. So finding the right hardware combination is an effort, but one that I'm ill-equipped to take on right now.

I'm NOT asking anyone to give me a build list. That's just silly.

I am trying to learn more about the Linux operating system/kernel, why it does what it does, and how it's different than other OS. More importantly, I want to understand how the OS interacts with the hardware, so that I can figure out what is important in my hardware selection and what is not.

After all that, and my long-winded introduction; my question is, Where do I start? Is there advanced Kubuntu/Ubuntu documentation that I can review? Can I just volunteer to be a developer and learn as I go?

If you've had the patience to read this far, thank you for your time. And thank you in advance for your response.

Best regards,