X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Laptop Recommendations?

Hi All,
    I'm currently considering to buy a new laptop, and I was wondering if someone could recommend specific models or brands. Of course in particlar with an eye towards compatibilty with kubuntu!
    I've had a Thinkpad T60p for 7 years now and was quite happy with it, but now the fan is failing (again) and the battery/charging circuitry is dead. I'm also increasingly noticing that it is just not up to the task anymore, preformance with.
    I'm a graduate student in a computational science and doing any serious work with real data is next to impossible on my old laptop (but of course I have a much more powerful workstation in my lab). I would like the laptop to be reasonably portable but also suitable for some serious work, for example when I visit my parents or when I'm at a workshop.
    The natural successor for the T60p would be the Lenovo T540p, but the reviews I read are less than favorable... so I should probably look elsewhere... maybe HP?

Here is an outline of the specs I am lookign for:

15.6" FHD Display (i.e. 1920x1080) and matte (I hate glossy screens)
    Intel i7 (preferably quad-core with 6MB L3 cache)
    8GB RAM (upgradeable to at least 16 GB)
    500GB+ HDD and optical drive OR 240GB+ SSD
    (I intend to replace the optical drive with a SSD)
    Bluetooth and WLAN
    Dedicated (discrete) video card is not necessary.
    Long battery life (>5h)

I really liked the track point on my Thinkpad, but I am not sure if other manufacturers have that, too.
    I also prefer systems that are not tightly soldered together, so that it is possible to exchange/replace some parts (as with the Thinkpads; e.g. I replaced the fan before). I also want something that will last fora while and can survive some abuse - maybe MILSPEC certified or something like that (like Thinkpads).
    I guess I'm expecting to pay about $1500.

So, any recomendations/comments?

Thanks,
    Chopstick