This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Considering Linux Certification

I may be forced into a career change in the future and am trying to plan ahead a little. I havent really decided what road to go down, but Im thinking that Linux certification may be useful in many fields and so might be worth the time and money investment. (Plus I get to learn more about Linux:P) So, for the professionals out there, I have some questions.

- Is it worth it? If I got a certification, do you think that it would help me get a job?

- What certification programs are the best?

- I wouldnt be able to attend classes, so I would be self studying. Can you recommend any books or other resources?

Self study may not get you very far. You'll need a lot of hands on under the eye of a knowledgable professional. Unless you are a genius being self-taught stands out pretty quickly. It can also get somewhat expensive in time and money.

I've been retired too long to know exactly where the market is on Linux certification now, but, like it was 10 years ago, I'd wager that the premier Linux certification is given by RH, which also has the largest presence in corporate America.
    http://www.tomsitpro.com/articles/li...s,2-654-5.html
    • Red Hat Certified Systems Administrator (RHCSA): The foundation Red Hat certification, which vets essential skills in handling files, working at the command line, and using system documentation, along with managing systems (boot-up, identifying processes, start/stop virtual machines, controlling systems), configuring storage partitions and logical volumes, and more. $400