This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Has Anyone Here Built a Linux Oil Box?

Ok you know we are all geeks or we wouldn't be here eh? Today my roomy asked me about making a PC "quiet". I told him there are a few ways to go about doing this;

Clean and Oil Your Fans
    Personally I break my PC down about once every 6 months and hit it with a small air compressor I bought for my car. Then I spray the fans with WD40. Just a short squirt inside the plastic to lube the barrings. I wipe off any excessive drips, I am not an electrician so I don't know what effect the oil might have on circuits.

Dip Switches on Case
    Something I heard but never done myself. Some guy up North of me (I am in Canada near Detroit) said he placed on/off toggles on his case. Drilled holes and ran extra wires to the individual fans (3 I think he said). Because it is cold in the winter he shuts some of them off and runs a CPU monitoring tool. This sounds pretty risky to me, so I am not one to try it. He claims that he only runs them in the summer mostly and even sometimes not all at once.

Oil Filled Case
    Finally like the title asks, oil filled cases made from aquariums. Some people used corn oil but it decays and makes and smell. So many recommend mineral oil from a hardware store. I have read and seen different results. Some say you need a pump to cool the oil, but others immerse the fans and allow them to pump the oil around the tank. This option is definitely not for someone who opens and upgrades the hardware often.

My roomy is no IT major and says he would like to try it. He has an older PC (early 2000's model) and it has no OS to speak of and he doesn't really care if we kill it. Asked me to assist, sounds like a nice summer project to keep us busy. We are going to scrounge up the parts we need... but I am betting we kill it. Because I am a genetics major and he is a hematologist major. So has anyone reading this had any experience or words of wisdom?