This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Funny Scam Failed from the Start

So 35 minutes ago I am sitting here when the phone rings.

Simon: Hello? ... Hello?
    Scammer: [Heavy Indian Accent] Hello my name is Rob and I am a Microsoft Technician.
    Simon: So Rob, what do you want with me?
    Scammer: Your computer has informed us it has a virus on it.
    Simon: That is incredible! I didn't know my computer could do that.
    Scammer: Yes of course, if you follow my instructions I will assist you in removing the virus.
    Simon: Of course, tell me what to do.
    Scammer: Ok you will need to...

Over the course of the next 20 minutes Rob tried to use several Windows commands to open things that don't even exist on Linux. LoL
    When he asked which version (of Windows) I had I told him I wasn't really sure. I wish more people like Rob would call me I find them entertaining.

LOL .....I shure wish 1 would call me that could be lodes of fun .

VINNY
    i7 4core HT 8MB L3 2.9GHz
    16GB RAM
    Nvidia GTX 860M 4GB RAM 1152 cuda cores

Comment

I did that once. I really got them going because I directed my browser at the URL they specified and they could see that, and that I downloaded the executable they wanted me to. I say "they" because I was passed twice to seemingly more capable guys. At no point did I say something untrue. The fury when the penny dropped was gratifying.

Of course, I should have been more circumspect, I wasn't running NoScript then. But it was clearly a windows executable they wanted me to run, and I didn't have wine or anything that would attempt to run it.

Regards, John Little.
      Regards, John Little

Comment

I got one of these. Interestingly, my desktop runs Windows. I stood there for five minutes assuring him that he couldn't help me because my computer is perfectly fine, I make sure it is. I thought to myself briefly "What am I doing arguing with this guy?" and hung up.

Comment