This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New User

Hi everyone. Just joined and thought I'd take the opportunity to introduce myself.

I am a big fan of Linux and have been mucking about with different distros for the last 4 years. Kubuntu and Fedora are currently my faves. Started off with Ubuntu but have lost interest in it, mainly 'cos of Unity.

I would love to use Linux as my main OS but as I use CAD software for a living there really isn't any way out of Windows.

Welcome to kubuntu, and the forums.

Comment

Welcome!

Comment

Originally posted by bigseb View Post
        Hi everyone. Just joined and thought I'd take the opportunity to introduce myself.
        Hi there.

I am a big fan of Linux and have been mucking about with different distros for the last 4 years. Kubuntu and Fedora are currently my faves. Started off with Ubuntu but have lost interest in it, mainly 'cos of Unity.
        I lost interest in Ubuntu because of the Gnome applications. KDE applications are generally far superior.

I would love to use Linux as my main OS but as I use CAD software for a living there really isn't any way out of Windows.
        Kubuntu is my main OS because my interests changed. I bought a lot of Windows software that I no longer need or want to run.

Comment

Hello, and welcome to the forums bigseb.

Linux is, and has been, my only OS. I don't do CAD and can't offer any suggestions for replacement software, but everything I've ever needed or wanted to do has been doable on Linux. I'm guessing, but can't definitively state, that you can find suitable replacements for the window$ software you're currently relying on.

At any rate, enjoy Linux when you are using it, and take the time to go through its vast selection of software!
          Xenix/UNIX user since 1985 | Linux user since 1991 | Was registered Linux user #163544

Comment