This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Acceptable power supply voltages?

My HP m8100n desktop has been freezing/rebooting when under a load. Most stress tests cause it to lock up/reboot. I have ruled out hdd, ram, heat, etc. I am down to either the mb or psu. I have monitored the psu voltages with software and manually with a multimeter. The +3.3v doesn't look right to me. From what I've read (I'm no expert in this area) the min value for the +3.3V rail is 3.2V. It is supposed to power the cpu, video card, and sometimes the ram. I'm guessing at idle it is fine, and runs out of juice when under a load at only 1.7V. Any second opinions?

Code:
    CPU Core = 1.296V
    +2.5 = 2.48V
    [COLOR=#ff0000]+3.3V = 1.776V[/COLOR]
    +5V = 5.68V
    +12V = 11.776V
    -5V = 4.672V
    -12V = 11.392V
    Klaatu Barada Nikto

Generally, if you're going to test the voltages to determine PSU failure, you need to do it with a meter. Mobo sensors and software are more likely to be flawed than a PSU. For example: The fact that your reading on the 3.3 sensor is almost exactly half of what it is supposed to be raises suspicion that the software is using the wrong multiplier.

However, when you combine the low reading with the lock-ups/reboots a betting man would wager a couple month's rent on the PSU being the problem.

The behavior you describe is exactly what my computer was doing until I replace my PSU. In my case, it was because it was not powerful enough. Once I upgraded, all the locking up and crashing stopped.

Please Read Me

Comment