X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

now we're gettin' there 218 mi elec car

http://news.yahoo.com/blogs/technolo...203207200.html

woodsmoke

I have one problem with electric cars. How well does the waste heat from the electric motors and transmission keep the front windshield clean and the passenger compartment warmed?
    "A nation that is afraid to let its people judge the truth and falsehood in an open market is a nation that is afraid of its people.”
    – John F. Kennedy, February 26, 1962.

Comment

hmmm good question.

woodsmoke

Comment

Probably as good as my 72 VW! I would hazard, that they now use an electric heater of some kind, of course that would cut down on battery range.

Comment

When I was a freshman in college I worked part-time as the "circulation manager" for a small town newspaper where the college resided. During the winter that VW they give me to take papers to the kids and various vendors used air which was directed over the muffler to pick up heat. I'm not sure where it got its heat but I know that it never warmed up much and could barely clear a 10" circle on the driver's side of the windshield... for get the passenger's side. But, IIRC, it got over 30 mpg in town... maybe almost 40. My 2002 Saturn 2SL five speed stick gets 30 in town and 40 on the highway, and it heats up in under two miles.
          "A nation that is afraid to let its people judge the truth and falsehood in an open market is a nation that is afraid of its people.”
          – John F. Kennedy, February 26, 1962.

Comment

The heater(s) on my 2011 Hundai are hands down the best I have ever had, they will melt ice in a few minutes.

woodsmoke

Comment

Did you notice a resemblance to the Box fish? Here's an old article about a design consept that I've seen on the roads more and more lately.
              http://news.cnet.com/2300-11395_3-6130045-2.html