X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

VFP

Originally posted by GreyGeek

I'm amazed that you tried to run Visual FoxPro under Wine. Following the instructions of Paul McNett, who worked with Ed Leaf, I did that with Visual FoxPro 6.0 and was able to edit and compile one of my apps (as a test) under SuSE 6.4 and WINE. The only problem I had was with some of the controls on the executable which came out black. I couldn't resolve that problem and abandon the attempt. I am not sure McNeet or Leaf could either. But, it didn't matter. While Microsoft came out and said it was OK to run VFP under Linux, is was NOT OK to distribute your compiled ELF executables of your compiled VFP apps to run under Linux. That, a lawyer pointed out, was a violation of the US Anti-Trust laws because it tied an application to an OS. Now that kind of tie-in doesn't seem to bother the DOJ.
    @GG, I'm no developer, but I believe my application is what you would call a compiled VFP application. Is is distributed as a product: http://www.whollygenes.com/Merchant2...mvc?screen=TMG

@motoburn, this is still mostly accurate: http://kubuntuforums.net/forums/inde...opic=3095339.0

Re: Install and run Windows based Shockwave/Flash *.exe

Yup, if you don't give the VFP developer to your clients (which would be illegal, if not expensive) then what you give them HAS to be an executable, along with distributable libraries.

Your app? Did you pay to have it created or did you buy the right outright?
    "A nation that is afraid to let its people judge the truth and falsehood in an open market is a nation that is afraid of its people.”
    – John F. Kennedy, February 26, 1962.

Comment