This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Just installed Kubuntu Lucid Lynx

Extremely satisfied with the look and feel of KDE 4.4. I really like Dolphin over anything else. I love the widget implementation, i really enjoy finding and applying new widgets such as the weather widget just to name one. I'm a noob and just got exposed to Linux from my brother. Real glad i found this new side of the computer world. Overall, i believe the KDE and KUBUNTU team have done an outstanding job, but I can't really express how satisfied i am with everything KDE. Keep it up, you have made me a lifelong KDE Person, Thanks.

Re: Just installed Kubuntu Lucid Lynx

Welcome aboard!

Only a few of posters here actually "work" on KDE or Kubuntu. Most of us are satisfied users like you are. I second all your comments!
    "A nation that is afraid to let its people judge the truth and falsehood in an open market is a nation that is afraid of its people.”
    – John F. Kennedy, February 26, 1962.

Comment

I searched through the forums here and couldn't find certain information on the KDE website and the KUBUNTU website. Are they separate? Is Kubuntu the same team as the people who make KDE? if so why the separate websites and forums. I figure since i use Kubuntu i'll come here for help. Not of 'real' importance. Thanks again.

Comment

They're separate teams actually. KDE just deliver a GUI, now they prefer to call it a framework, Kubuntu is a team that binds it to GNU/Linux and an X server in an Ubuntu fashion. Kubuntu devs weren't always part of Canonical dev teams, they first started on their own and later got invited by Canonical after they found it a interesting project to invest in.
        Multibooting: Kubuntu Noble 24.04
        Before: Jammy 22.04, Focal 20.04, Precise 12.04 Xenial 16.04 and Bionic 18.04
        Win XP, 7 & 10 sadly
        Using Linux since June, 2008

Comment