X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Can't get out of this thing (kubuntu)!

Bump into Kubuntu and it seems now I can't get out of it

It was about one week ago, when one of my friend came to me and asked a lot of things about Operating System and Linux. He asked if I got any experiences with Linux and if I could help him on installing one of the linux distro in his laptop. It's an ACER with i3 processor.

It's been quite some times since I played around with Linux, the last time is KK (Ubuntu 9.04) and Knoppix, I guess it was one year ago. So I decided to get him an Ubuntu. I downloaded LL 10.4, and installed him one right away. Nah, actually I burned him the CD and told him to do it himself, and it works right away. On the side note, my friend is a complete beginner in computer. So I guess that's showing how easy nowadays to install Ubuntu

So, what about Kubuntu? Well, since I saw Ubuntu is pretty awesome in my friend's laptop. I decided to install one myself. Did it a week ago, all is well, I'm pretty satisfied with how it looks but I'm not really happy with the fact that my sound was not configured properly. Oh, and here are my systems (it's a self build PC):

- Intel C2D 2.67GHz
    - MB ABiT iX-38
    - ATi Radeon HD3870
    - Onboard 7.1 sound with 5.1 altec system. + Creative ZEN Vision M (mainly used as an FM receiver plug into one of the line in)

I was spending last weekend to tried to make my sound worked as I want it, but with no luck. The problem was I would like to keep my FM receiver to run through the sound card instead of plug it directly into the speaker system (running out of all line in the speaker).