This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Delighted with KDE

Hello , new to this forum but not Ubuntu.

Have to say the KDE desktop is really very very good. Love the eye candy through and through.

One feature i really enjoy is to be able to push the mouse to the top right corner and all minimised windows pop up in miniature, much better than a task bar, took a while to realise but good job.

Love the colors love the widgets and if any one thinks its a Windows 7 copy as i have read here, RUBBISH ! its years ahead of anything MS has produced (im not a MS knocker).

I have a few minor niggles but nothing i can sort out by reading about.

Ubuntu+KDE 4.2, the future ?

Thanks very pleased old man here.

Re: Delighted with KDE

I agree. It's the second best KDE I've ever used.

Comment

I concur Sir!! I am new to Kubuntu. I have used other Linux distros prior to trying Kubuntu and the KDE Desktop. I am currently running the Kubuntu 9.10 Alpha release and I am very pleased with the distro so far. I really love the KDE Desktop it looks amazing. I am running the 64bit version of Kubuntu ext 4 on an Aluminum Unibody MacBook. So far everything is running very smoothly. I am using this is my main and only OS at the moment. I am sure that the final release will be a fantastic distro.

Comment

mmm... You're running Kubuntu 9.04 ALPHA?

That was what I started with, back in February!

I am sure that the final release will be a fantastic distro.
        Well, since ALPHA there have been lots of updates, a FINAL release of 9.04, and many more updates since then. IF you have been allowing the updates to install you are probably well beyond the final release. I am running KDE 4.2.4 and installed the .30 Linux kernel (in order to improve 3D response with the i915 driver on my video chip). The combination is outstanding!
        "A nation that is afraid to let its people judge the truth and falsehood in an open market is a nation that is afraid of its people.”