This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

VMWare - The Answer to Program Compatibility

So this is just me thinking... but is VMWare REALLY the way to go...

Sure, it allows you to install another OS natively in your Linux (or whatever) OS computer you have so that you can run favourite programs that you enjoy in that particular OS that isn't compatible with your Linux box - but is this really the way to go? I'll admit, I'm new to linux, and loving it! But the thing that always (or in the past used to) sends me tail between my legs to the "other" os's was a simple fact of software availability and compatibility.

To me, it defeats the purpose of using linux if I still have to install a virtual machine in order run programs of proven quality and compatibility (legally, I still need to own a copy of Windows to install on my VM). Should the community be (I shudder to use the term) "lobbying" more to increase awareness of the open source "revolution"? Or does it fill a purpose on its own that I'm perhaps not seeing - perhaps it's me that thinks I NEED to use "mainstream" programs in order to be productive in my techno life?