Weird Keyboard+Mouse behaviour

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Weird Keyboard+Mouse behaviour

Im using a "old" laptop. The Lenovo Legion Y720.
    When plugging in my Microsoft Standard Optical-Mouse, there seems to be a chance, that at some point, either the mouse or my build-in keyboard starts to behave abnormal. Sometimes, the mouse starts constantly moving in any direction, still registering other inputs but with the constant movement nonetheless.
    Sometimes, it gets almost stuck to some random point on the screen and i can only barely move away from it, but always get dragged back. And just now, the keyboard started to register "wrong" inputs like "K" opened up, adding new bookmark in firefox and many buttons not working anymore at all.
    Whenever any of the above happens, unplugging the mouse doesn't fix anything. I always have to reboot the PC.
    Im still pretty new to Linux and Kubuntu so please have mercy upon me.

While im at it. I can use the keyboard shortcut "Fn+F6" to deactivate my touchpad but activating it again isn't as easy as pressing the shortcut again.

Welcome to KFN.

Personally, I'd be thinking 'dirty' mouse and keyboard. Do you have another mouse you can swap out with? That would at least confirm/eliminate the current mouse as a contributor. Exactly how "old" is the laptop?
    Windows no longer obstructs my view.
    Using Kubuntu Linux since March 23, 2007.
    "It is a capital mistake to theorize before one has data." - Sherlock Holmes

Comment

the laptop is six years old. Ill try out another mouse and see if it happens again.
      what exactly do you mean by "dirty" mouse? i guess you dont mean just some dirt on the mouse

Comment

Originally posted by Observerman View Post
        the laptop is six years old. Ill try out another mouse and see if it happens again.
        what exactly do you mean by "dirty" mouse? i guess you dont mean just some dirt on the mouse