This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Doesn't detect wifi

Hello, this is my first time using linux, and i installed it alongside windows 11 in a lenovo ideapad5 laptop with amd, and everything works fine, just that i cant detect any wifi networks and dont know how to solve it
    Last edited by claydoh; Apr 21, 2023, 05:37 AM. Reason: merging posts somehow busted the content??

Howdy!

Was wifi working during the install process?
    Does your laptop have ehternet?

Simple things first: make sure that wifi hasn't been toggled off, try the keyboard Fn-key shortcut for this.

next, we need to see what wifi card this is. Find and open KInfoCenter, then go to >>Devices >> PCI and look for entries that say wifi, wireless, or something similar. Copy the text for that and paste it in a reply.

it will look somewhat similar to this:

Code:
    06:00.0 Network controller: Intel Corporation Wi-Fi 6 AX200 (rev 1a)
    Subsystem: Intel Corporation Wi-Fi 6 AX200NGW
    Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0, IRQ 18
    Memory at dfd00000 (64-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=16K]
    Capabilities: <access denied>
    Kernel driver in use: iwlwifi
    Kernel modules: iwlwifi​
    If you want to be all 1337, you can get this information using Konsole:

Code:
     lspci -vv | egrep -i 'network|ethernet|wireless|wi-fi'
    Code:
    00:1f.6 Ethernet controller: Intel Corporation Ethernet Connection (2) I219-V
    DeviceName: Onboard - Ethernet
    Subsystem: ASRock Incorporation Ethernet Connection (2) I219-V
    06:00.0 Network controller: Intel Corporation Wi-Fi 6 AX200 (rev 1a)
    Subsystem: Intel Corporation Wi-Fi 6 AX200NGW

This should help point to what may be needed. Some cards need external drivers, etc.