This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

KDE seems very slow

I just installed Kubuntu for the first time and its my first time to use KDE for about 5 or 6 years. I finally noticed that KDE4 was out so i wanted to try it out again.

Something in Kubuntu is extremely slow. Just navigating the menu or file manager causes CPU spikes. If i just move a window around on the desktop there is a huge delay before it actually moves.

I good example is that switching between this browser (opera, which seems to be the fastest between Firefox, Opera and Konqueror) and another window on the desktop in this case System Settings takes about 5 seconds for it to appear on top on the browser.

I was able to run the latest Ubuntu and Linux Mint 8 with no issues but those run gnome.

System Specs are:
    AMD 3200+
    2GB Ram
    ATI 1950 AGP

Guessing that its a driver issue with the ATI card since ATI nicely dropped support for the older cards.

Re: KDE seems very slow

KDE4 has a lot of overhead. I found Kubuntu 9.10 rock solid. On the other hand kde on lucid has a lot of issues in regards to kde only. Ubuntu lucid is very stable.
    Boot Info Script

Comment

I have the same issue with my (old) laptop. Hopefully KDE will soon focus on improving the experience for those not running the latest hardware. Until then XFCE serves me well.

Comment

For me, KDE 4 is quite fast, and on a machine whose specs are about half of yours. Well, much less: Athlon 2.8+ (really a 2GHz CPU), with 512MB RAM and a nVidia onboard GForce 5200 with 128 MB RAM. This even runs desktop effects decently.

You performance perception is probably related to your graphics card, not anything to do with KDE.

Comment