This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

fresh install, a few questions

I'm new to kubuntu (or better: I'm new to kde!), before posting I've tries searching but...I still have some problems

-fonts in general are not very nice ( when compared to ubuntu karmic (that I use) and mandriva kde 2010 (tested via live cd)), and in particular in Firefox a text is quite hard to read...moreover sometimes fonts are huge, some other times are too tiny! Fonts are particularly bad in gmail

-do you suggest enabling antialiasing? with which settings? should I force fonts dpi?

-could you suggest a few steps to change the default layout? it's not very nice IMHO..

-the kubuntu installation has modified my Grub2 and now the default system is kubuntu (and no longer ubuntu): how do I change the boot sequence with grub2? (no more menu.lst!)

-some 3D effects can not be enabled (ex looking glass, sharpen, ...). Any solution?

-stupid question: how do I change the default mouse arrow?? it's really ugly..

thanks!!

edit: after changing a setting a reboot was required

Re: fresh install, a few question

Originally posted by plutus
    -stupid question: how do I change the default mouse arrow?? it's really ugly..
    K -> System Settings -> Keyboard & Mouse -> Mouse -> Cursor Theme

Comment

Re: fresh install, a few question

thanks!

Comment

Re: fresh install, a few questions

I doubt there is a big difference in the set of fonds used in Ubuntu vs. Kubuntu.
        But as you are running both why not check out the system settings in both and change accordingly?

A lot of people prefer the familiar look of the MScorefonts, install ttf-mscorefonts from the multiverse repro's. Google will offer you many hints.

The font size in Firefox is a separate theme, you can edit it within Firefox but often it's enough to use the familiar CTRL+ (- or+ or scrollwheel) to get it right.

If you feel anti-aliasing is an option, try it out!
        I have mine set to 'System'.