X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

[SOLVED]No wireless network found

Hi!
    I'm in need of some help. I run Kubuntu 9.10 on a Dell inspiron 1520 laptop. I have installed wicd. Wired connection works pretty well. But the wicd network manager cannot detect wireless connection. I get this message: "No wireless network found". I will appreciate some help. Step by step please, I am new to linux.

Re: No wireless network found

Originally posted by hakiza
    Hi!
    I'm in need of some help. I run Kubuntu 9.10 on a Dell inspiron 1520 laptop. I have installed wicd. Wired connection works pretty well. But the wicd network manager cannot detect wireless connection. I get this message: "No wireless network found". I will appreciate some help. Step by step please, I am new to linux.
    Try this link for specific instructions : http://dimitar.me/?p=728
    Most Dell laptops have Broadcom cards and use Broadcom drivers for wifi.
    Robert Collard, Springfield, IL<br />Dell Inspiron 1545 Laptop, Intel Duo T3400 CPUs @2.16Ghz<br />Xubuntu 9.10 x86_64

Comment

Since you have wicd installed you must be using a wired connection from the back of your wireless router.

Install Synaptic;

sudo apt-get install synaptic

Once it is installed, run it and search for b43-fwcutter. Install that. During it's install it will look into your broadcom chip and cut out the firmware (fw-cutter), creating a wireless driver for your chip. Your wireless chip light should come on and wicd should be able to scan and see it. If it doesn't then you may have to reboot to get your wireless chip turned on by HAL.
      "A nation that is afraid to let its people judge the truth and falsehood in an open market is a nation that is afraid of its people.”
      – John F. Kennedy, February 26, 1962.

Comment

Thanks guys, I appreciate! Instructions given by GreyGeek seemed simple; I followed them but get the same result: "No wireless network found".