This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

no reboot after updates

I was in the process of downoading the latest updates to the kernel while doing something else. I saw the reboot icon on the task bar and so did what it said. Unfortunately, now I can't reboot Kubuntu--all I get is 'sh grub? with a list of commands. I tried reboot and it said there was no kernel. What did I do wrong? Can I salvage this? I'm relatively new to Linux, but have been using both Ubuntu (laptop) and Kubuntu for the last year and actually prefer it to Windows. But I don't know enough about the commands to decide what to do. Any suggestions?

Re: no reboot after updates

Hi and welcome home

Is it possible for you to upload a few screenshots of what you see? (with a digital camera), and please give more details? (single boot,/dual boot/how many partitions or disks, etc). We might be able to help, I am not sure really what went wrong!

Comment

Wow, that was quick! Thanks for responding. Here is some more information. I am using a clean-installed Kubuntu 9.10 (after my upgrade crashed when it got to flash installation) on a dual-partition disk, shared with Windows xp. As the installation was effected using Wubi, Windows xp is the default os. I can't take a screen shot since my digital camera is in the shop, but here's what happens:
      --I turn on the machine and wait;
      --I get a screen asking me to select windows or kubuntu--I choose the latter;