Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

[solved] [sort of] "X server startup timeout" when kdm is starting...

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

[solved] [sort of] "X server startup timeout" when kdm is starting...

Hi - did a good 9.04 -> 9.10 upgrade, still sorting out a couple of minor kinks.

Seems like startup is slower recently (not sure if i'm imagining things) but investigating the logs shows the following when filtering for "kdm":

2009-11-19 15:48:51 mymachine kdm[1162] X server startup timeout, terminating
    2009-11-19 15:49:06 mymachine kdm[1162] X server termination timeout, killing
    2009-11-19 15:49:06 mymachine kdm[1162] X server died during startup
    2009-11-19 15:49:06 mymachine kdm[1162] Failed to start X server. Starting failsafe X server.

...perhaps a recent update somehow messed up my X config? It seemed snappy after the upgrade, but slower in the last week or so. I'm sorry i'm an X beginner; I'd post helpful log files or configs ahead of time but I'm not sure what would be useful... Of course i'll be happy to provide whatever may be relevant. (e.g. one of the X.org logs?)

Dell Inspiron 6000 laptop... from lspci:

01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc M22 [Mobility Radeon X300]

Here is xorg.conf:

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier "Configured Monitor"
    EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier "Default Screen"
    Monitor "Configured Monitor"
    Device "Configured Video Device"
    DefaultDepth 24
    EndSection

Section "Module"
    Load "glx"
    EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier "Configured Video Device"
    Driver "ati"
    EndSection

Section "ServerFlags"
    Option "DontZap" "True"
    EndSection

#Option "DRI" "off"