This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

koffice i just downloaded koffice now what

i downloaded kword im new to linux but i cant find anything that resembles an excutible

Re: koffice i just downloaded koffice now what

is there a reason that you don't want to use open office, which is installed by default? It (in my opinion), has more features. It is a bit bloated though. If you want to install koffice, do a search on this forum, and install it from the repository, there should be no need to install from a tar file (which is probably what you downloaded.

mm0
    Dell Inspiron 1720 Laptop<br />Intel T9300 Core2Duo Processor @ 2.5Ghz<br />4 GB Ram | 1920 X 1200 Resolution<br />2 X 160 GB SATA HD Internal<br />Nvidia GeForce 8600M Graphics Adapter<br />Using Kubuntu 9.10

Comment

Originally posted by eaterjolly
      i downloaded kword im new to linux but i cant find anything that resembles an excutible
      pls install koffice frm the repo. it will be integrated with yr menu.

Comment

Originally posted by muzicman0
        is there a reason that you don't want to use open office, which is installed by default? It (in my opinion), has more features. It is a bit bloated though. If you want to install koffice, do a search on this forum, and install it from the repository, there should be no need to install from a tar file (which is probably what you downloaded.

mm0
        it doesnt have times new roman which is required for all papers at my school! i figured out the terminal command to install it

Comment

There must be some way to add this font to open office.

Since you are a newbe, I will help you out. When installing new software go to KPackageKit under applications, System. Search for any new software there. Click the + sign on the right and select install.
          This will download the software and install it. This is all you have to do, a couple of mouse clicks.