Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

[[SOLVED]] JPG photo creation information not displayed in file browsers, HOWTO

I take pictures here in Mexico, which I send to family members who work in the US. In one case the family in the US had not seen a family picture in 18 years.

In another, three brothers in the Madison area had never seen a picture of their 15 year old brother because they have been gone 15 years.

So, I do take a lot of pictures, though since I am not a professional I should say tolerable snapshots.

Part of my picture processing means it is very handy if I can look at Creation data. Date picture taken; camera information, pixel dimensions.

On Kubuntu 7.04 all I had to do is hover over the jpg file in Konqueror, and a pop up display gave me that information.

Though I use Konqueror as a file browser (for several reasons, split screen is the big one) Dolphin does the same thing. That display of data simply does not happen.

At this time I know of no way to access that information in 9.04, unless I start processing them in digikam, which just asked me to click if I wanted that stuff displayed.

The problem is, I normally crop and resize with mogrify, and I don't think I can do that in Digikam.

I am multi-boot and store stuff in a FAT partition, which means I can import in Digikam, then re-boot to 7.04 to process if I must. But, as you can see, that is rather tacky. I really doubt I can mix Konsole and Digikam. Maybe?

Any suggestions how to get that Creation information displayed in Konqueror (or Dolphin if I must, but I'd rather not.)?

Re: JPG photo creation information not displayed in file browsers, don't know how

Hi,

A few things:

* Dolphin has a split view (I have an icon to split it, in KDE 4.3, but it may be there in 4.2.*)
    * Dolphin -> Settings -> General -> Previews-> Jpeg (have you tried that?)
    * Dolphin can attach a terminal, I think it is in View -> Panels, just look in the menues