Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Dialup: How to connect via dialup without kppp?

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Dialup: How to connect via dialup without kppp?

Hi all

Just finally did a complete upgrade from Gutsy to Jaunty - so its my first time using KDE4.
    Previously using KPPP (Gutsy) not the Network Manager.

Background Info

Current system is via a clean install so nothing from the prior install should cause any issues.

The installation was a little odd (compared to the old Kubuntu systems) so I am not sure whether this is related to my problem.
    BTW I was installing from DVD, not the CD.
    The install took ages: eg. installed lots of language packs (I only requested English) then spent ages deleting them all.
    Nothing was prompted here, it decided to do all this work and undo it by itself!
    Hence I am not sure whether the install program did not install what was needed &/or deleted some needed program(s), hence my problem.

Issue: Method of connecting to the Internet via Dialup in Jaunty cannot be found.

Have looked in the Network Manager but cannot find any Dialup options.
    Looked in the new package manager and PPP, PPPConfig & PPPoeconf et al are installed but not KPPP.
    BTW I could not find any references to the adept installer in the menus. Also the package list on the current system seems rather restricted (even for a DVD).

Tried firing up PPP via the terminal) but it cannot be found.
    Also there is nowhere when I can see any recognition of modems or anywhere to put in modem settings.

Looked up the Kubuntu forums using search and could find no info on this for Jaunty.
    So I am stumped. And connecting via another old computer using Gutsy!

Is someone able to lead me in the right direction please?

Many thanks

Andy
    Perth, Australia

Re: Dialup: How to connect via dialup without kppp?

Hi All

I think I have found part of my problem.