Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Interrupted Upgrade and Reboot -- HELP !!

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Interrupted Upgrade and Reboot -- HELP !!

Hi All,

I'm a relative newbie to Kubuntu, probably 6mths, and I'm still trying to work my way around it. I received a prompt the other day to upgrade to 9.01 (or something like that), and said ok.

All was well, so I just let it run.

Then we lost power, I have no idea where the upgrade was up to but my computer had rebooted when the power came back on and all i had was a text screen requesting a username (which i entered) and a password (which I also entered) but nothing happened .... no gui, just text.

When the computer boots up the graphical Kubuntu with the %bar comes up and also when I shut down.

How to i get my Kubuntu back ? I'm lost without it !

Re: Interrupted Upgrade and Reboot -- HELP !!

Login and run
    sudo dpkg --configure -a
    then run
    sudo aptitude -f install
    This should configure any packages that were left partly configured and get your system into a stable state. Then run
    sudo aptitude update
    and
    sudo aptitude -f full-upgrade
    If all of those complete successfully you should be in pretty good shape. At that point if you do not have KDE back yet try
    sudo invoke-rc.d kdm restart
    The odds are good that will get you working but we might have to install a few other packages.

Comment

Thanks for your prompt reply, i tried the steps that you suggested including the 'sudo invoke-rd.d kdm restart' command, unfortunately it just seems to do the same thing.

I did ALT-F1 (all the other ALT's showed me just the login prompt) and it showed me this, i'm not sure if this has anything to do with the problems that I'm experiencing though, here's what it says:

Boot from (hd0,0) ext3 3f51de7a-d06f-4e1b-bafe-59470182dbb9
      Starting Up ...
      Loading Please Wait ...
      19+0 records in
      19+0 records out