Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

KDE 4 desktop resolution, Xorg.conf or not?

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

KDE 4 desktop resolution, Xorg.conf or not?

I've been running Ubuntu based distros on PCs around me for nearly 3 years and I just installed 9.04 as a fresh install on a PC that was running Ubuntu 7.04. Now after installing the nvidia drivers (180) I went to change the resolution up to 1280x1024 using the gui thingy and it wasnt in the list. So, I reckoned there would be hundreds of people moaning about it on these forums, there are, but none of the threads I've read has a proper solution.
    From what I can tell, xorg.conf is not being used to store the resolution and refresh rate settings in KDE4. Or maybe it is? Using nvidia-settings i can change the resolution to anything withing range but, cant write it to xorg.conf, it tells me there is a parsing error.

Code:
    Failed to parse existing X config file '/etc/X11/xorg.conf'
    My xorg.conf is basically empty
    Code:
    Section "Monitor"
    	Identifier	"Configured Monitor"
    EndSection

Section "Screen"
    	Identifier    "Default Screen"
    	Monitor        "Configured Monitor"
    	Device        "Configured Video Device"
    EndSection

Section "Module"
    	Load	"glx"
    	Disable	"dri2"
    EndSection

Section "Device"
    	Identifier	"Configured Video Device"
    	Driver	"nvidia"
    EndSection
    What can I do to get the machine to start up with 1280x1024 or 1152 x 864 (probably better). The video card is a 6600GT and the monitor is a 17"CRT.
    Thanks in advance.
    Kubuntu 9.04 on <br />Intel Pentium Dual Core 2.0GHz<br />Radeon HD3470

Re: KDE 4 desktop resolution, Xorg.conf or not?

How about from System Settings, does that fail, too? I think this is unrelated to KDE, and really and xorg thing, they moved a lot of stuff (optionally, AFAIK) out of the xorg.conf file ...

Comment

Aha -- an nVidia card.