This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

[SOLVED] My system is crashed?

This morning, I shut down my laptop, all right.
    2 hours later, I tried to enter into my session, and i crashed. I moved directory .kde to #&%$, and nothing happens. I created a new user, and neither.
    In a session of another user, I've tried to enter to this forum, but I have not neither connection.
    Any ideas?

Re: My system is crashed?

Before starting, can I ask you what your general linux expertise level is? You sound as if you are comfortable using CLI, correct?
    Once your problem is solved please mark the topic of the first post as SOLVED so others know and can benefit from your experience! / FAQ

Comment

Yes, I use to work with CLI. I'm not an expert, but I know where to find system files and how to edit it with vim

Comment

My man!!! Vim and the two of us will get that system up again (I hope...)

Could you first post the output of
        Code:
        df -h
        This is the most common complaint of X not coming up, i.e. the disk is full...
        Once your problem is solved please mark the topic of the first post as SOLVED so others know and can benefit from your experience! / FAQ

Comment

Com'on!!!! My error is living it's last hours!!
          All the filesystems has 0% or 1% of space used, except / (52%) and /home (92%).

Comment

Ah, you're back

So you've got space aplenty. Isn't that nice.

Time for a number of trouble shooting exercises. Boot without usplash (to do so remove "quiet splash" from your kernel line in grub). Watch and note any errors.

That is just standard procedure and may or may not throw up something interesting.

It sounds as though your system is alive and well and only X is not playing according to the rules. Let's have a copy of your xorg.conf then and let us know which video card (if any) you have. You may also want to try to install envy-core, stop kdm and then call it up on the CLI by typing:

Code: