This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Problems with Wi-Fi Installation & Migration from Win XP

Goodmorning/afternoon/evening to all of you !

My name is Bryan from Belgium and I just became the proud owner of a Linux Kubuntu 8.10 Distro. The first thing I do whenever I get my distro is ofcourse install it on my Laptop. Which ofcourse gives me a lot of trouble. Seeing as I am a newbie to Linux and am migrating from Windows XP I'm asking advice here. Any help will do and will be greatly appreciated !

My interest in Kubuntu came whenever I had to do my ICT project about Open-Source software, and I saw what marvelous it can do. Freedom to share, freedom to edit, a lot of freedom ! And secondly. Why illegal if you can have an OS legally.

So I switched to Kubuntu. My first problem on the laptop itself (which I do not have with my PC) is that my wireless adapter won't enable. I use a laptop with Function Keys so in my case FN - F1 would normally turn on my Wireless Card under windows.

I've already noticed that the network manager in Kubuntu noticed my Wireless Card (Intel PRO/Wireless 3945ABG Adapter). The only problem thus sofort is that I can't turn in on via the GUI or anything. I've got a little experience with BASH. I've installed ndiswrapper once following a manual ofcourse and I know cp, mv, rm, mkdir ! (My god, the agony)

Secondly, does any of you have any advice on how to migrate the easy way from Windows to Kubuntu, since I would love to make this my new OS. The only small problem for which I still will use Windows is that I need to be able to run Virtual Machines & my Mathematical Program Derive 5. But maybe there are solutions for this too.

I hope to hear from you all !

Thank you very much in advance

Bryan

Ps:. Just so you all know, I've searched on the forums and on google and tried some stuff out myself !

Edit:. Installed NDiswrapper together with the proprietary drivers given from my vendor. No Luck.