X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Can't connect to the internet through wifi

Hello.

I just installed Kubuntu 8.10.

The problem is that i cant connect to the internet through wifi.
    It founds my wifi connection and when i chose it, it says connecting and after few seconds it stops.

The strange thing is, that it doesn't ask me for a password for my wifi.

Can someone please help me. I'm a newbie at linux and a step by step instruction would be great.

PS: My laptop is Acer Aspire 5920G.

Re: Can't connect to the internet through wifi

I have this same issue. The only Linux distro that I've found to work with my Wifi is Ubuntu 8.04. I've downloaded Suse, PcLinuxOS, Kubuntu 8.04, Sabayon, gOS. They all have the same issue. They see my wireless card, but won't let me connect to any network. Does anybody have any suggestions. Out of all the distros I've tried I like the look of Kubuntu the best. I can load Kubuntu, but I can't use the internet. Which makes it useless to me.

My wireless card: Broadcom Corporation BCM4312 802.11b/g

Comment

Just for reference, I've found FreeBSD embarrassingly easy compared to any linux I've tried on the same hardware for wifi. If it could handle flash 10, I wouldn't be bothering with linux on the kids' computers . . .
      Noone else may have these opinions without paying my retainer

Comment

To set up internet:

Right click on the knetwork manager icon and choose edit connection. In the box choose the one you want to connect to.

Select the right type (WEP, WPA etc) and dialog boxes will appear for the passwords. Type in the right info. go to next until you see a panel with a tiny autoconnect box. Then hit "connect and save". If you have typed in the correct info you should get a connection and on every subsequent reboot.

Comment

"should" being the operative word

If you need a driver from ndis or hal, you don't get prompted.