Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

[SOLVED] Nvidia 180.29, Intrepid, geforce 7600 GT and 15inch widescreen monitor

I just thought I would post my experiences which have been long and painful. I am no expert, but this worked after many tries at other methods such as ENVYng. And the KDE4 driver installer.

I had the 177 nvidia drivers working fine , but decided i needed the newer driver(idiot). I down loaded the new dr iver on to the Desktop and followed the nvidia instructions.....fail. tried installing various drivers and suffered the black screen of indifference and resolution problems. Today I managed to sort the problem.

1. Use synaptic to find every package that has nvidia mentioned and uninstall the lot. This included ENVYng and nvidia-settings and all older drivers and modules from goodness knows when.

2. Follow a guide I found but cannot remember where it came from. (Sorry mate)

3.Make a backup of xorg.conf before using the method.

4. Install nvidia-settings package.

sudo apt-get install nvidia-settings

5. Download driver from Nvidia (I found 180.29 from main download page). I downloaded to the Desktop folder that is now part of the new KDE4 experience, the capital D being required.

6. Press ctrl alt F1 and login with your password. Here the guide says connect to the internet, but I didn't 'cos I didn't know how!! Press alt+F2 and login then use

sudo killall kdm.

7. cd Desktop

8. sudo sh ./NVIDIA-Linux-x86-180.29-pkg1.run

9. lots of errors and verbose panics ensued, but I just passed on the lot. I said yes to run configuration.

10. startx and the damned X thing started

11 sudo reboot and the driver starts properly with the nvidia screen and googleearth works again.

I hope this works for you. If the thing crashes and you need to repair the xorg file then I use.

sudo dpkg-reconfigure -phigh xserver-xorg

If this works then great if not don't shoot me please as I am no expert.