Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

tried to get flash installed, that didnt work, now firefox is messed up!

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

tried to get flash installed, that didnt work, now firefox is messed up!

please help... i know someone else already posted a similar problem but the fix that was posted didnt work for me.

i tried to go to youtube and the videos dont play, i tried to install flash from adobes web site, i think i installed it right (im brand new to anything linux) but no videos will play, and now my back, foward, reload, and cancel buttons are all greyed out on firefox.

i cant tell you how much this agitates me. i was throughly enjoying kubuntu and even spreading the linux gospel when this bull**** had to happen. please someone out there help!!!

i have kubuntu hardy heron and firefox 3.0.1. im not sure what other info to post.

PLEASE HELP!!!!!!!

Re: tried to get flash installed, that didnt work, now firefox is messed up!

Midas,

Welcome to Linux and Kubuntu!

Not knowing what instructions you tried to follow...here is an 'official' offering

http://ubuntusite.com/installing-med...kubuntu-hardy/

God bless
    Doug
    Malachi 3:10 ESV <br />...says the LORD of hosts... I will not open...windows...for you...<br /><br />Linux user since 2001 pda; 2006 lappy

Comment

ok i just did that and nothing...

in the adept manager when i search for flash, it says that the adobe-flashplugin is installed.

does anyone else have any suggestions? the more i search for an answer the more it seems like im not going to get one.

Comment

Are you by any chance running NoScript or Adblock Plus?

If you are, you have to allow certain sites.

In the Firefox address bar, type: aboutlugins and tell us what flash plugins there are in the list.

Comment

i didnt install noscript or adblocker plus. but not sure if they come with kubuntu or not.

when i typed in aboutlugins her is what i got -

Default Plugin