Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

FInding a cross-system program(2 questions)

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

FInding a cross-system program(2 questions)

Hi
    I'm looking for a program that will find duplicate files (not OS files). I'll explain. I am a photographer and have many photos all over my computer. I have 2 large hard drives and when I make changes to my system (eg. install a new version of Linux) I do a backup of everything I fear I may loose. photos, docs etc. I am paranoiac in that way :-) , I guess. As I have a dual boot system, Windows & Linux (I use mainly Linux) I want to organize my photos and burn them onto DVD's in an orderly fashion. For this I want to find all duplicate photos (& other files if possible) and make some order in my computing life. Is there such a program which can go through ALL my partitions (even if they are NTFS), find duplicate files and allow me to delete or make order. It was suggested (on another forum) that I try FSLint but it seemed only to find duplicate Linux OS files.

2nd question
    The other program I am looking for is a photo organizer that will "see" all the photos on my computer and enable me to catalogue them. I've tried digikam, fotoxx, Gimp. I'm sure it's a "mapping" problem because I can see the photos when using Dolphin.
    Mmm.. Maybe I should open two threads for two different questions - though they are related, I think.
    TIA
    Errol

Re: FInding a cross-system program(2 questions)

Duplicates:

Commandline:
    fdupes - finds duplicate files in a given set of directories

GUI:
    KleanSweep
    File cleaner for KDE
    KleanSweep allows you to reclaim disk space by finding unneeded files.
    It can search for files basing on several criterias; you can seek for:
    - empty files
    - empty directories
    - backup files
    - broken symbolic links
    - broken executables (executables with missing libraries)