X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Can't install flashplayer 9

I tried to install flashplayer 9 but I got the following message:

flashplayer-installer: Permission denied

How do I gain access to it? I'm not too experienced in Linux so exact directions would be greatly appreciated.
    Thank you in advance.

Re: Can't install flashplayer 9

Open the Konsole.

Enter
    Code:
    sudo apt-get install flashplugin-nonfree
    Accept the installation question.

Close Konsole. You are done.

Comment

Okay. I tried it and I got a message that I already have the latest version installed. The problem is that I still can't see any YouTube videos or access any website that uses the flashplayer. When I did go to YouTube, however, it said that I either have javascript turned off or I have an old version of flashplayer. When I checked Firefox's add-ons, it showed that I have Shockwave Flash (9.0 revision 115) installed. I did check Firefox's preferences and it shows that I have both Java and Javascript enabled. Any ideas?

Comment

What tells Adobe test page ?

More: FAQ: Adobe flash
        Before you edit, BACKUP !

Why there are dead links ?
        1. Thread: Please explain how to access old kubuntu forum posts
        2. Thread: Lost Information

Comment

Still no go with flashplayer. Using the Konsole, I manually copied libflashplayer.so to my /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins directory. Using Dolphin, I confirmed that the file is in that directory. When I loaded firefox, I still couldn't get any YouTube videos. I then copied the file to /usr/lib/mozilla-firefox/plugins, just in case I put it in the wrong directory. Still nothing. I typed "aboutlugins" in the addressbar and it doesn't show up. When I click on "Tools/Add ons", it's not listed. What am I missing here? Any additional suggestions are highly appreciated.

Comment

Are you running 32 bit or 64 bit Kubuntu? Which Kubuntu, 8.04?

Comment

I'm running 32 bit Kubuntu 8.04. Could there be some problem with permissions?