X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

My wireless woes and unusual solution

Hi

I've had limited success with my wireless up until recentley. My setup is Acer Aspire 5630 (HH 8.04 & Vista) with:-

Network controller: Intel Corporation PRO/Wireless 3945ABG Network Connection (rev 02)
    Subsystem: Intel Corporation Unknown device 1001
    Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0, IRQ 219
    Memory at d0100000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=4K]
    Capabilities: <access denied>

Ethernet controller: Broadcom Corporation BCM4401-B0 100Base-TX (rev 02)
    Subsystem: Acer Incorporated [ALI] Unknown device 0090
    Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 64, IRQ 21
    Memory at d0000000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=8K]
    Capabilities: <access denied>

and a linksys rangebooster router

I'm a newbie having tried linux for very short periods over the last few years then gone back to windows anyway i was lucky to get my wireless working 4 days out of ten. i trawlled these forums and others trying everybodies different solutions but found nothing that worked successfully regularly even after re-installing i dont know how many times. I tried all the wireless programs i could find no different.

I noticed one day when switching from kde 3 to kde 4 that i kept my wireless connection that gave me an idea. I installed ubuntu-studio desktop (took up about a gig of hard drive) logged into that, found its network program entered my essid, passkey and selected automatic configuration dhcp pressed ok, it said it was setting up the configuration file and i had an internet connection. Logged into kde and still had my internet connection. the network program had written this to my interfaces file:-

auto lo
    iface lo inet loopback
    address 127.0.0.1
    netmask 255.0.0.0

iface wlan0 inet dhcp
    wpa-psk XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX XXXXXXXXXXX
    wpa-driver wext
    wpa-key-mgmt WPA-PSK
    wpa-proto WPA
    wpa-ssid linksys

auto wlan0