X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Replacing a partition for Kubuntu

Hey guys

I'm new to Kubuntu (and these forums) but I'm not a noob, I just want some basic advice

I've partitioned my 500gb drive as follows;

C:/ = Windows Vista x64 - 50,000 MB
    D:/ = Windows XP - 50,000 MB
    X:/ = Personal files - 368 GB

Currently, I dual-boot Vista and XP. I've decided to keep Vista but remove XP and replace this partition with Kubuntu (so I can dual-boot Vista with Kubuntu).

Can you please advise me on the easiest way to do this?

The way I was planning to do it is delete the XP partition in PartitionMagic (through Vista) and find out how to use the partition tool built into Kubuntu, then format that empty space to ext3 and then install it.

Is there a better way to do it?

Thanks in advance
    Dual-boot: Kubuntu Hardy Heron 8.04.1 / Vista x64 Ultimate<br />Custom Build: Gigabyte MA-770-DS3 ; AMD Phenom 9550 2.4GHz x 4 ; 500GB SATAII 16MB ; 4GB Corsair PC2-6400 800MHz ; nVidia 9600GT ; Antec Sonata III w/500W Earthwatts PSU ; 5.1 HD Surround ; 22&#39;&#39; LG Monitor

Re: Replacing a partition for Kubuntu

I, as well as others here, would recommend/suggest that you download and burn the LiveCD of GParted version 0.3.4-7 (or upto -9) to do the formatting of the old XP partition.
    Using Kubuntu Linux since March 23, 2007
    "It is a capital mistake to theorize before one has data." - Sherlock Holmes

Comment

When using gParted, would you recommend I erase the XP partition and format to ext3 and THEN boot with Kubuntu and install?
      Dual-boot: Kubuntu Hardy Heron 8.04.1 / Vista x64 Ultimate<br />Custom Build: Gigabyte MA-770-DS3 ; AMD Phenom 9550 2.4GHz x 4 ; 500GB SATAII 16MB ; 4GB Corsair PC2-6400 800MHz ; nVidia 9600GT ; Antec Sonata III w/500W Earthwatts PSU ; 5.1 HD Surround ; 22&#39;&#39; LG Monitor

Comment