Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

KDE4 install keeps wanting to re-download everything?

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

KDE4 install keeps wanting to re-download everything?

Hi guys,
    I'm a newbie.
    Had a play with Unbuntu and Xbuntu and have decided I like the look of Kubuntu best.
    Downloaded the "kubuntu-kde4-8.04-desktop-i386.iso" to install on a Toshiba laptop, using the install inside Vista method for the time being.
    Didn't have any trouble with the two previous versions doing it this way but when I try to install Kubuntu it gets part way through the process then starts to download the necessary files, in this case another 689.3 megs!
    After having downloaded the 705mb iso already - this can't be right can it?
    Shouldn't it find most of what it needs on the CD?
    Cleared all remains of the previous installs but it keeps doing it?
    Thanks in advance,
    Rev

Re: KDE4 install keeps wanting to re-download everything?

Welcome to the party

I don't know the wubi installation process at all but depending on your location and language the installation will (if you choose to) download a whole bunch of language / regional packages on top of what is on your cd (which it just copies over and not really "download").
    Cleared all remains of the previous installs but it keeps doing it?
    Of course it does. It has to get ansd unpack those files from some where.

A 700md cd translates into approx. 3-5GB on HD after install depending on your region.

So please qualify the problem
    HP Pavilion dv6 core i7 (Main)
    4 GB Ram
    Kubuntu 18.10

Comment

Originally posted by Fintan
      please qualify the problem
      My location is Australia.
      I don't know what else to tell you.
      I downloaded the KDE4 8.04 desktop i386 iso (705.856Mb).