Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Kubuntu 8.04 will not boot - stuck at [initramfs] (or something like that)

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Kubuntu 8.04 will not boot - stuck at [initramfs] (or something like that)

I installed Kubuntu 8.04 inside Win XP and the dual booting had been working (until tonight). Now when I try booting up Kubuntu, it gets stuck at the "[initramfs]" line (I think that's the name) and just sits there. If I type "help" (as I'm told I can), I'm given a list of internal commands so there's a shell loaded. I can type "reboot" which works but that's it.

Re: Kubuntu 8.04 will not boot - stuck at [initramfs] (or something like that)

I am no expert at that but I do have a few questions:
    What do you mean by:
    I installed Kubuntu 8.04 inside Win XP
    Also, could you supply some more information like:
    Motherboard, RAM, CPU, video / audio card, are you using HH 3.5.9, kde4.0.5, kde4.1 beta or a mix?

Did you do anything before this issue "poped" up?
    If yes what?

The more information you can give the easier it will be for someone here to help in a productive way
    HP Pavilion dv6 core i7 (Main)
    4 GB Ram
    Kubuntu 18.10

Comment

@ Fintan

I think he means a wubi install - I've tried it once on a friend's computer but won't be doing it again in a hurry...

@ dbeko

Did you run an update before this happened? Did it finish cleanly? As Fintan said, the more info, the better...

But above all - this wubi business is not really that great, I had all sorts of problems upgrading one and only hours of ploughing through the www got me back on track. Hence my advice: do a proper reinstall
      Once your problem is solved please mark the topic of the first post as SOLVED so others know and can benefit from your experience! / FAQ

Comment

Also, could you supply some more information like: