This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Can't login as Admin

In 8.04 KDE4, I don't see the option to login as admin. (for example in the login manager). I saw some instructions to modify /etc/hosts but can't get access in Konsole. How do i do this or are there any other suggestions? I'm a noob... Doh!

Re: Can't login as Admin

the root (i.e. admin) user is disabled by default in ubuntu systems.
    to gain admin privileges, you'll have to go through
    - sudo, for commands on the command line
    - kdesudo, for guis

users that are members of the admin group
    are allowed to gain admin privileges through sudo.

operations that require admin privileges will prompt for the user's
    password automatically.

what is it that you need/want to do?

hth

ps:
    /etc/hosts has nothing to do with user accounts
    gnu/linux is not windoze

Comment

Primarily, I want to enable auto login. Also, I've seen references to logging in as root. How does one do this?

Comment

autologin:
        see here.

root login:
        you'll have to enable the root user account.
        that's all.
        start a konsole and enter the following command:
        Code:
        sudo passwd root
        you'll be asked to enter a new password.

you can test if things work from kmenu -> switch user -> start new session
        otherwise, just log out of kde and try and log back in as root.

hth
        gnu/linux is not windoze

Comment

My original problem is that the Admin. mode button does not appear on the login manager screen, or anywhere else that it normally appears, on this install. I've been able to do this using this option on the earlier versions(even the Hardy beta). I did a fresh install (twice) of the Remix version and the problem occurred. I'll let you know if logging in as root helps. Thanks for the advice.

Best, JB

Comment

I sincerely hope your machine is not open to the outside world i.e. you do have an external firewall?