This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Dual Boot install question - noob

I've never used linux before. I am trying to install kubuntu 8.04 from the live cd installer. I have Windows xp installed and I want to have a dual boot for kubuntu. When it asks me how I want to partition the disk it defaults to my usb external hard drive instead of my internal hard drive with xp, so I choose manual and I'm confused by what I'm seeing. It only shows 8mb of free space when I actually have 138gb. I assume I have to choose the drive /dev/sda1 and say edit partition but I'm not sure where to go from there. Can someone tell me what I need to do or how to get the correct drive to show up in the intital partition screen?

Thanks

Re: Dual Boot install question - noob

If yo just want to test it out, there is a new portion of this install that will install directly from whitin Windows. It will not mess up your Windows install and seems to be easy to do. I ran it once for a test see and I had no issues. It is called Wubi (see link below). That way you don't have to worry about partitions.

http://wubi-installer.org/

Comment

I've been testing it out from the cd and I want to install it but I want to keep windows on my system as well. I'd rather have it dual boot than run it from within windows.

Comment

Here is a little reading from QQMike. You'll need to know a little about GRUB as well, so here is this. I'll find what you need for the actual install.

http://kubuntuforums.net/forums/inde...opic=3081671.0

Comment

See if any of these help:

http://kubuntuforums.net/forums/inde...opic=3091653.0

http://kubuntuforums.net/forums/inde...opic=3093325.0

Comment