Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Vanilla Release Candidate CD Fails Boot to Live on my machine.

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Vanilla Release Candidate CD Fails Boot to Live on my machine.

Hi,

I downloaded the release candidate CD ISO on Saturday 19th, and have a problem. It boots to the initial menu and I select the option for running without installing to my disk. I then get the blue KDE logo and the Pong bar for some time (approx 1min+) before the screen goes blank save for a blinking cursor. After further waiting (approx. 30 seconds or so), I get the following error message:

"Buffer I/O error on device fd0, logical block 0"

Presuming fd0 is the floppy drive - I don't have one.

I am happy to be as much help as possible in working out what the problem is, but you may need to be fairly precise in your instructions as I'm not an expert. I don't know how to get startup logs when it's just booting from CD without installing, for example.

My hardware is as follows: AMD Barcelona Dual Core 5200 CPU, Asus M2R32-MVP motherboard, 4GB DDR800 RAM, Samsung SATA DVD-RW, Radeon 2600HD Pro Graphics card, 2x 160GB HDs with Ext3 filesystems.

Really don't know what else might be of use, but will post anything needed. The CD passes its check for defects.

I really like Kubuntu (KDE is *much* nicer than Gnome, for me) so I'd really like to install Hardy Heron on its release day, but particularly I thought there might be other people out there with this problem and it might be something that can be caught and fixed. I am running Kubuntu Gutsy Gibbon currently.

Many thanks,

-Harmony.

Re: Any 8.04 CD Fails Boot to Live on my machine.

This is not exactly a bump, as I've got a lot more information this time. Still, I was hoping somebody would have offered a suggestion. Even a pointer as to how to more accurately diagnose the problem would be helpful at this stage.