Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Total newbie trying to get video driver working.

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Total newbie trying to get video driver working.

Hello,

I'm totally new to linux. I installed Kubuntu 8.04 on my computer, dual booting with windows XP. P3 933 mhz, 512 ram, Ati Radeon 9250. I am trying to install a video driver for it. I followed the instructions online. Whenever I change the xorg.conf file and wrote Driver ="fglrx", after rebooting, it doesn't work, screen flashes a few times and then it goes directly to the kernel, not loading KDE.

I also tried to run the .run file from Ati's website but it said X server not found or something like that.

I checked Display drivers and there is a Vesa driver that is always set as primary after a reboot no matter how many times I changed it. Also, when I do fglrxinfo, it doesn't return the ati driver, it returns the mesa driver.

Please help. My KDE without the ati driver freezes for 10 seconds or so from time to time. Not sure if it has anything to do with that.

Thanks in advance.
    Jon

Re: Total newbie trying to get video driver working.

Ati Radeon 9250. I am trying to install a video driver for it. I followed the instructions online. Whenever I change the xorg.conf file and wrote Driver ="fglrx"
    Sadly, AMD (Ati) has dropped the Linux support to the Radeon 9250. The last AMD fglrx/catalyst driver with the Radeon 9250 support was:

> Fglrx wiki
    20 September, 2006. Version 8.29.6 ends support for Radeon R200 based cards (i.e., the series of Radeon 8500 through 9250).
    and that version of the driver doesn't support current version of the x server.

Opensource driver:

Package: xserver-xorg-video-ati
    This driver for the X.Org X server (see xserver-xorg for a further description) provides support for the ATI Mach, Rage, Radeon, and FireGL series. It provides the 'atimisc', 'r128' and 'radeon' sub-drivers.