This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Realtek problem.

Hey, I've just installed kubuntu 8.04 from inside of windows, and have noticed that i have no sound. In my windows, i have a Realtek ac'97, but in Kubuntu, it just doesn't work. I don't have any drivers for it, (I don't think), but whenever i click on the icon in the taskbar (The little speaker with a red X), it just says mixer cannot be found. I'm new to linux, and don't know what to do. Can anybody help?

Re: Realtek problem.

Update: I downloaded the drivers from the Realtek site, but they don't see to have done anything? What am i doing wrong?

Comment

Start with the links here, and follow the troubleshooting guidance. 95% of cases can be resolved by the user, if you follow the guidance carefully:

http://kubuntuforums.net/forums/inde...opic=3086812.0

Although, the "inside of Windows" part is not necessarily addressed -- I don't know how well Kubuntu can access your hardware when running within another OS. Personally, I run Windows inside of Kubuntu, and if Kubuntu has anything running that uses the sound system, then it is not available to Windows. I wouldn't be surprised if the reverse situation is the same.

And by the way, Welcome!

Comment

Originally posted by dibl
        Start with the links here, and follow the troubleshooting guidance. 95% of cases can be resolved by the user, if you follow the guidance carefully:

http://kubuntuforums.net/forums/inde...opic=3086812.0

Although, the "inside of Windows" part is not necessarily addressed -- I don't know how well Kubuntu can access your hardware when running within another OS. Personally, I run Windows inside of Kubuntu, and if Kubuntu has anything running that uses the sound system, then it is not available to Windows. I wouldn't be surprised if the reverse situation is the same.

And by the way, Welcome!