This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Best Way To Setup New Hard Drive

After a couple of weeks of increasingly strange error messages (which I now realise were pointing towards an impending drive failure) my HDD has died. However I have a Partimage copy of the root partition stored on my external drive. I'm wondering if I will be able to roll this into my new HDD once I have set it up with a similar partition structure and reinstalled Hardy, or will this simply be introducing problems to the new drive? My intended partitions will be:
    Root: 10GB, Swap 2GB, Home 38GB, Data: 80GB, with 3 spare 40GB partitions which are linked to Home.
    David

Re: Best Way To Setup New Hard Drive

I am no expert with partimage but I'll try and give you a partial answer.

First use gparted live cd to partition your new HDD.

Assuming you have /hom, /data backups you can now repopulate you new partitions and use partimage to play back your /.

Now for the fun part. It is called uuid. This is an ID scheme made to utterly confuse most people while frustration attempts to change partitions sizes or make mew partitions and gives each partition its own unique ID.

They live in your fstab and /boot/grub/menu.lst which telly us which partitions to mount and which distro to boot respectively.

These will most likely have been changed on your new HDD so you have to edit those two fles by hand so that your installation can boot and it sees the right partitions.

Do do this you will have to boot up a live cd (Kubuntu).
    - Mount & activate all the partitions with system settongs>advanced>harddiskd&files>administrator mode.
    - open a terminal and do:
    Code:
    blkid
    this will give you a list of all the partitions / drives and their corresponding uuids.
    Take carefull not of these or copy / paste them into kate for better reading.
    Now:
    - open up kate in admin mode:
    alt+F2>kdesudo kate>press enter> kate will open.