This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Essentials for switching

I think a lot of people take an interest in Linux because they want to switch from using Windows for two reasons:
    1) Windows isn't free
    2) Windows is starting to get ridiculously dumbed-down (I was liking it up until XP, but Vista is just dire)

Microsoft Windows is a magnificient operating system; I mean I've been using it for about 15 years, from about Win 3.11 for Workgroups, to Win 95, to Win 98, up to Win XP Pro SP2. It's extremely stable, it rarely crashes if not abused.

Windows is no easy competition when it comes to replacing your operating system. At the moment, I've got a few operating systems on my machine, and I'm slowly but surely trying to switch to using Kubuntu as my main OS. I want to switch to Linux for these reasons:
    1) It's free
    2) It's not getting ridiculously dumbed down (well hopefully it won't)
    3) Everything in Linux starts with the commandline (I like this)
    4) I like the file system, mounting stuff from the root directory and so forth

The major drawback tho of switching to Linux is simply that 15 years experience with another OS is hard to beat. Anyway, I was hoping some people here could help me with some problems I'm having with switching to Linux. These problems are what I see as essential in an modern OS:

1) I can't for the life of me get flashplayer to work in either Konqueror or Firefox. When firefox (attempts to) load a flash player page, it simply disappears and I get a message box saying that a program's crashed. In Konqueror, I tried to use something called nspluginwrapper, but it too crashes after about 10 second of playing.
    2) Trying to get Skype working, but it just doesn't wanna work. When I enable my microphone, something very strange happens. I get a series of beeps, maybe three beeps of middle C, then it move up a few notes and beeps a bit more, then moves up further and beeps a little more.