X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

OpenOffice update

Hello.

I am new to Kubuntu and was wondering if it is safe to download and install the new version of OpenOffice (2.3.1). Will it replace automatically version 2.3.0 (that comes pre-installed with Kubuntu Gutsy)?

Re: OpenOffice update

Ok, just updated my OpenOffice to 2.3.1

[img width=400 height=285]http://img295.imageshack.us/img295/7808/snapshot1tj0.png[/img]

But now, Adept Updater is always warning me about that "There are 7 updated packages available" (want to downgrade to 2.3.0?!?). How can I permanently ignore packages with Adept Updater?

Comment

I am running OOo 2.3.1, having downloaded the .deb files from the Openoffice web-site. Once installed, the software works fine, however......:

I don't know whether it is necessary but I uninstalled 2.3.0 before installing 2.3.1.

I have found it necessary to force the installation of the core files to get round circular dependencies. For example core file one is dependent on core file 2 which itself is indicated to be dependent on core file 1!!! I haven't found a way to avoid this, other than to force the system to ignore the problem.

Also, since installation adept persists in offering an "upgrade" of the module packages (writer, calc etc) but the packages on offer are actually for 2.3.0. Agreeing to accept them will result in the removal of everything including the core files and replacement with Kubuntus 2.3.0, so don't do it. The little adept icon will also remain in the taskbar to remind you that 6 packages are available for "upgrade".

Given that Openoffice is a flag-ship application, I would have thought a certain amount of priority would be given to creating the packages when a new version becomes available, as seems to happen with Firefox for example. I understand Version 2.3.1 of OOo is primarily a bug-fix and security improvement version so I am not sure why we can't get this later version from the repositories.

Ian

Comment