Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Uninstall SeaMonkey -- Basics of Sudo for Removing Applications?

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Uninstall SeaMonkey -- Basics of Sudo for Removing Applications?

Hello All,
    I installed SeaMonkey a while back, but I want to switch to Firefox and Thunderbird. I want to uninstall SeaMonkey, but it's not in the repositories. So I have to uninstall it manually.

I'm pretty sure "remove" is a basic operation, but I've never done it before. I have a hunch how to do it. I'm hoping someone can confirm that I'm doing the right thing.

SeaMonkey is located in two places on my system...

A folder:
    /opt/seamonkey

A shell script:
    /usr/bin/seamonkey

Do I have to uninstall both the folder and the shell script separately? Can I use the following command:

Code:
    sudo rm -r /opt/seamonkey
    Thanks!
    Matt

Re: Uninstall SeaMonkey -- Basics of Sudo for Removing Applications?

The 'safe' approach, is to open a console shell and type:
    Code:
    cd /
    sudo apt-get remove --simulate seamonkey
    This will 'simulate' the actions that removing the package seamonkey will have on your system. It won't actually do anything. If the output doesn't show any errors, you can then rerun the command without the --simulate option:
    Code:
    sudo apt-get remove seamonkey
    Windows no longer obstructs my view.
    Using Kubuntu Linux since March 23, 2007.
    "It is a capital mistake to theorize before one has data." - Sherlock Holmes

Comment

Snowhog,
      Thanks for the help. I'm slowly but surely picking up a good sense of various commands to use in the command line. The more I learn, the more I like using Konsole!

OK, can you help me interpret the output I got. Here's the Konsole session:

Code:
      matthew@Main:~$ cd /
      matthew@Main:/$ sudo apt-get remove --simulate seamonkey
      Reading package lists... Done
      Building dependency tree