X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

WINE

Hi Guys,
    I am new to Kubuntu 7.10 and have a dual boot with windows xp and kubuntu 7.10 and i have heard that i can run windows applications under WINE, can anyone please tell me how to install/get wine in a step by step way?

Re: WINE

Open Adept (Manager), search for Wine, select it for installation, and install it.
    For external use only.

Comment

do i need internet connection to do that?

Comment

Yes.
        Using Kubuntu Linux since March 23, 2007
        "It is a capital mistake to theorize before one has data." - Sherlock Holmes

Comment

what if it won't find my modem?
          !!!mmmmmh<br />loading a kernel. I think I found one?!<br />...xunil gnitoob<br />Ready!!!

Comment

Originally posted by Snowhog
            Yes.
            The problem is that i got wireless internet and whenever it connects to my wireless and gets to 57% the whole of kubuntu freezes this is also as soon as the writing changes to "activation stage: ip configaration started"
            any ideas on what i can do to get my internet working?

Comment

can we run all the windows application through wine, like the games , softwares installed in windows

Comment

you can run most MS applications in linux using wine, some i have found do not run as well, and some you have to look for dll's and some simply don't run

Comment

yes wine is good, i installed it and tried to run some programs installed in windows( i dual boot kub & xp) , many programs(that i installed in windows Ex : jet audio, firefox,) were accessable through wine but some could not(ex : yahoo messenger).

i think wine get upgraded time to time , so as to increase its reverse engineering capabilities.

Comment

Wine is not a panacea for running windows apps in linux. I have a few windows apps that run fine in wine.