This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

I think I found the source of the problem with updating after install

I kept running into the same problem after installing Kubuntu 7.10 and I did do some reading here afterwards but didn't get see an answer to "why." I am new to Kubuntu, or Linux for that matter, so I am having to learn as I go along. The meat of the bug was after I would install, I would see the notification for 170 updates. I would apply them and a little more than halfway through it Adept Manager would crash. So, after doing this several times and re-installing Kubuntu and trying again I decided to apply the updates one at a time to see what would happen. Everything was going very well until I reached the libqt3-mt update and this was the result:

(Reading database ... 84290 files and directories currently installed.)
    Preparing to replace libqt3-mt 3:3.3.8really3.3.7-0ubuntu11 (using .../libqt3-mt_3%3a3.3.8really3.3.7-0ubuntu11.1_i386.deb) ...
    Unpacking replacement libqt3-mt ...
    Setting up libqt3-mt (3:3.3.8really3.3.7-0ubuntu11.1) ...

Configuration file `/etc/qt3/qt_plugins_3.3rc'
    ==> File on system created by you or by a script.
    ==> File also in package provided by package maintainer.
    What would you like to do about it ? Your options are:
    Y or I : install the package maintainer's version
    N or O : keep your currently-installed version
    D : show the differences between the versions
    Z : background this process to examine the situation
    The default action is to keep your current version.
    *** qt_plugins_3.3rc (Y/I/N/O/D/Z) [default=N] ? dpkg: error processing libqt3-mt (--configure):
    EOF on stdin at conffile prompt
    Errors were encountered while processing:
    libqt3-mt

Now like I said, I'm a newbie, so not too much of this means a whole lot to me just yet, but hopefully this info will mean something to someone else.

Thanks