X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Error 11: Unrecognized device string : Kubuntu 8.04 won't boot up

hi everyone

A newbie here. After installing Fedora 8, Kubuntu 8.04 Alpha 3 won't boot up. I get this error message:

Error 11: Unrecognized device string

If I don't installed any OS after Kubuntu installation, then Kubuntu works just fine.

I have installed these OSes:

1st : Vista Ultimate      on       /dev/sda1
    2nd: Solaris Express    on       /dev/sda2
    5rd: Swap                    on       /dev/sda5
    6th: Kubuntu 8.04       on       /dev/sda6
    7th: Debian 4.0           on       /dev/sda7
    8th: Fedora 8              on       /dev/sda8

All other OSes, Vista, Solaris, Debian and Fedora boots up and works just fine.

Any help is highly appreciated. Thanks a million in advance.

- Jags
    Vista Ultimate<br />Solaris Express Developers Edition<br />Kubuntu 8.04 Alpha 4<br />OpenSUSE 11.0 Alpha 2<br />Fedora 8<br />Debian 4.0<br />Mandriva 2008.1<br />Sabayon 3.5 Loop 1

Re: Error 11: Unrecognized device string

boot into kubuntu using the CTRL+D way, go to a console, type
    Code:
    sudo blkid
    to get the right uuid for sda6 and put that uuid into your boot manager.

I didn't notice a boot partition in your listing - which boot manager are you using?
    Once your problem is solved please mark the topic of the first post as SOLVED so others know and can benefit from your experience! / FAQ

Comment

Originally posted by toad
      boot into kubuntu using the CTRL+D way, go to a console, type
      Code:
      sudo blkid
      to get the right uuid for sda6 and put that uuid into your boot manager.
      It's probably not the (kubuntu) root filesystem (sda6), as that seems to resolve correctly, but one of the other filesystems has a wrong UUID tag in kubuntu. Check the /etc/fstab file on the kubuntu filesystem and check if one of the filesystems has the wrong UUID (UUID=6368746f-2074-616b-6f65-207575696400)