Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

update and apt error in kubunto 7.10 (fixed)

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

update and apt error in kubunto 7.10 (fixed)

i have a error after i did a clean install and reboot with live cd went did updates and say bad packages win it try it install them and win i try to install from the apt installer

thank you for your help

Little Bear2

p.s. i am new at linux and kubuntu it on a p2 333MHZ with 256 MB of ram 6 GB hard drive and no other OS on it
    Kubuntu 14.04 lts KDE 4.X.X

Re: update and apt error in kubunto 7.10

Originally posted by Little_Bear2
    i have a error after i did a clean install and reboot with live cd went did updates and say bad packages win it try it install them and win i try to install from the apt installer

thank you for your help

Little Bear2

p.s. i am new at linux and kubuntu it on a p2 333MHZ with 256 MB of ram 6 GB hard drive and on other OS on it
    Before trying to understand quite what you mean (English is a foreign language to me), a look at the specifications of your PC: You might want to consider Xubuntu for this machine. It will run much faster, and don't need all that much hard disk space.

Then, if yoy want some of the programs that come with Kubuntu - just install them. If you later get more disks, you can upgrade to Kubuntu easily.

And, if you feel that even Xubuntu is slow on your PC - try DSL-M.

Comment

I am also new at Linux desktop although I have a few years experience with servers.

I just installed from the Live CD with no modifications. I am having the same issue with updating with adept update or the adept application. Also I am unable to install a package with adept. The error says:

There was an error commiting changes. Possibly there was a problem downloading some packages or the commit would break packages.